So…it’s been a while

Life is what happens while you are making other plans.”

Yea… that has proven to be true time and time again.  Of course, when I started this blog I had set quite the bar for myself.  Updating every other day, doing different topics on news, entertainment, personal rants…etc.  Essentially, I structured the whole damn thing in such a way that it wasn’t “fun” anymore – but rather became just another chore that needed to be tended to.  So, in an effort to keep it fun, I am going to keep things simple.

When I have something to say, I will post it.

There, that isn’t so hard; right?  To those who have clicked on the little “follow” button, I greatly appreciate your patience and interest.  I hope that this continues and, hopefully, we can start some great back and forth communication together.

Off we go!

===============================================================================================

It is official… my childhood, and the childhood of millions of people has been buried in the digital age only to suffer a long, slow, suffocating death.  This little tidbit passed under my radar without being recognized because it has been so long since I have tended to things from my childhood, so imagine my surprise when I learned that it happened over three months ago!  The era of Saturday morning cartoons is officially over.

Gone are the days when children who have had to deal with teachers and parents telling them what they can and cannot do all week, can find some brief respite through something as simple as filling up a cereal bowl and camping in front of the television set for the first few hours of any given Saturday.  I remember them well.  Darkwing Duck, Heathcliff, Garfield, Gargoyles, He-man, Shirttails, Smurfs, Voltron, Thundercats, GI Joe, Go Bots (yep, Go Bots – but Transformers deserves a mention as well I suppose) – the list goes on and on.  I even remember Ernest (Jim Varney’s iconic children’s character) coming on every weekend, “You know what I mean, Vern?”

We are slowly weeding out everything that made childhood great.

Saturday morning cartoons – Gone.
Schools are having trouble funding art and music programs.
Biking without a helmet – you just learned how to take a fall back then!
Being able to go out of the house ALL day with your friends without fear of some creep seeing an opportunity.
Meeting up with your friends required nothing more than a bike, and we actually talked with each other instead of texting.
Remembering telephone numbers required a mental rolodex that – every now and then – got the numbers transposed and was always immediately available.  These days, I barely remember my own number without looking it up!
Forts!

As I consider these things that have become nothing more than great memories, I find myself almost in mourning for a childhood that was more sunny days and tearing down dirt paths on a Huffy (or Schwinn)  – rather than staring into a digital screen, tapping on apps, and then claiming that they are bored and have nothing to do.  Texting is communicating – in as little words as possible, numerous misspellings, and so many combinations of various letters and numbers that it is difficult to determine if they are even using English anymore.  B4, U2, YOLO (apparently, this is the battle cry for stupidity). TLDR; too long, didn’t read – I had to look this one up and was both insulted and enlightened at the same time when I discovered its meaning. So, anything more than a paragraph, if you are lucky, is too much. No wonder so many young people are so misinformed these days.

Things may have gotten easier in some regard due to the changes brought on by this digital age we live in; but what has been the cost?  Have we successfully killed the innocent “playtime” of children, destroyed their sense of wonder, and instead created young people who believe that Google is the only source of all things true. It isn’t; and allowing them to believe that is a treacherous path all on its own – but beyond that it generates a lack of questioning and discovery that makes childhood so much fun!  Don’t know the answer?  Fine; guess I’ll use my imagination to fill in the gaps!

Then again; maybe this is what every generation goes through when looking at the generations that comes after them.  Sometimes, it’s “why didn’t we have that when WE were kids?!” – other times it’s simply a shaking of the head, followed by a muttering of the longer version of WTF?

Shout, shout, let it all out...

